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The Office of the Attorney General has prepared this pamphlet 
to assist car owners, auto manufacturers and car dealers in 
understanding their rights and responsibilities under Idaho’s 
lemon law, Title 48, Chapter 9, Idaho Code.  The lemon law 
protects consumers who buy a vehicle that is subject to an 
applicable manufacturer’s warranty. 

If you believe that you are the owner of a “lemon,” I urge you 
to study this pamphlet carefully.  You also should seek the 
advice of an attorney who is familiar with lemon law issues. 
If you do not have an attorney, you may contact the Idaho 
Lawyer Referral Service at (208) 334-4500 or online at 
www.isb.idaho.gov.  The lemon law does not limit your right 
to report problems under the terms of your warranty or other 
laws. 

I hope that the information contained in this pamphlet will 
minimize conflicts or misunderstandings and assist in the 
satisfactory resolution of lemon law disputes. 

Raúl R. Labrador 
Attorney General 

http://www.isb.idaho.gov/
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IDAHO’S LEMON LAW 
[Located at Title 48, Chapter 9, Idaho Code] 

What is the Purpose of Idaho’s Lemon Law? 

Commonly known as a “lemon law,” Idaho’s Motor Vehicle 
Warranties statute was enacted to help protect you when you 
buy or lease a car, truck or van that is subject to an applicable 
manufacturer’s written warranty.  Nothing in Idaho’s lemon 
law limits or affects your rights or remedies under other laws. 

Does the Law Cover My Vehicle? 

Idaho’s lemon law covers vehicle “nonconformities,” which 
include defects or conditions that impair the vehicle’s use or 
market value.  The law does not cover nonconformities 
resulting from abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or 
alterations of the vehicle. 

The law applies only to vehicles that have a manufacturer’s 
written warranty and that meet the following three 
requirements: 

1. The vehicle was purchased or licensed in Idaho; 
2. The vehicle weighs 12,000 lbs. or less; and 
3. The vehicle is used primarily for personal business 

reasons or for individual, family, or household 
purposes. 

Does the Law Exclude My Vehicle? 

The lemon law does not apply to motorcycles, farm tractors, 
trailers or ATVs. 
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The lemon law does not protect you from: 

• a dealer's false statements or misrepresentations 
(although you may have a remedy under the Consumer 
Protection Act) 

• an inability to make the payment; or 
• “buyer’s remorse,” if you change your mind and no 

longer want the vehicle. 

How Soon Must I Report the Defect? 

Immediately report any defect to the manufacturer or 
authorized dealer because the lemon law only covers your 
vehicle until one of three events occurs. 

These events are: 

1. the written warranty expires; 
2. the vehicle is driven 24,000 miles; or 
3. two years pass from the date of delivery. 

For example, if you drove 24,000 miles in six months and did 
not report the defect until the seventh month of ownership, 
your vehicle is no longer a “lemon” under Idaho law.  In this 
situation, even if you have five years left on your warranty, 
the lemon law does not give you additional time to report a 
defect.  Therefore, promptly notifying the manufacturer of the 
defect is crucial if you want to utilize the lemon law. 

What is the Manufacturer’s Duty to Repair My Lemon? 

Under Idaho’s lemon law, the manufacturer or its authorized 
dealers must repair your vehicle according to the warranty if: 

1. Your vehicle does not conform to the written 
warranty; and 
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2. You meet the reporting time limitations discussed in 
the previous section. 

If you meet these two requirements, the manufacturer remains 
obligated to complete the repairs, even if the repairs are not 
concluded until after the warranty expires or two years have 
passed from the date of delivery. 

When is the Manufacturer Required to Refund or Replace 
My Lemon? 

Idaho’s lemon law has special refund and replacement 
provisions for vehicles with substantial defects.  If the 
manufacturer or its authorized dealers cannot repair or correct 
a vehicle’s nonconformity after a “reasonable number of 
attempts,” the manufacturer must either: 

1. Replace the vehicle with a comparable one; or 
2. Refund the vehicle’s purchase price.  However, the 

manufacturer may subtract from the refund a 
reasonable amount to cover the vehicle’s use. 

The number of “reasonable attempts” to repair a vehicle varies 
depending on the seriousness of the defect and the time it takes 
to repair it.  Manufacturers always have at least one 
opportunity to repair a defect. 

The “reasonable number of attempts” requirement is 
considered satisfied if the warranty has expired, two years 
from the delivery date have passed or the vehicle has exceeded 
24,000 miles, whichever occurs first, and any one of the 
following conditions is met: 

• The manufacturer has made four or more attempts to 
repair the same defect, but is unsuccessful. 

• One unsuccessful repair attempt results in the 
complete failure of the steering or braking system, and 
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the failure likely would cause death or serious bodily 
injury. 

• Repairs have made the vehicle unavailable for 30 or 
more business days. 

You also may request a refund or vehicle replacement if you 
reported the defect during the term of the express warranty, 
and the manufacturer is unable to repair the defect within three 
years of the date of delivery. 

When May a Manufacturer Refuse to Replace or Refund?  

The manufacturer does not have to replace the vehicle or 
refund its price if: 

• the problem does not impair the vehicle’s use or 
market value; or 

• abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or 
alterations caused the problem. 

How Do I Report a Defect? 

Even though your vehicle has undergone several unsuccessful 
repair attempts, you are not guaranteed a replacement or 
refund.  You must first notify the manufacturer or authorized 
dealer, in writing, of the problem.  You also must give them 
one opportunity to repair the defect. 

In your written notice, include a detailed explanation of the 
defect, report that your vehicle is a lemon and demand that 
you get a refund or replacement vehicle under Idaho’s lemon 
law.  Send your notice by certified mail with return receipt 
requested so you have proof that the manufacturer or dealer 
received your letter. 

This notice does two things: 



 5 

1. It gives the company an opportunity to repair the 
defect (the manufacturer gets one chance to repair the 
defect after notification); and 

2. It notifies the company of your intention to use Idaho’s 
lemon law if the defect is not properly repaired. 

What About Arbitration? 

A manufacturer doing business in Idaho must offer consumers 
an arbitration program that addresses consumers’ warranty-
related disputes.  A manufacturer’s arbitration program 
provides consumers a fast, low-cost and simple way to resolve 
disputes.  If the manufacturer requires it, consumers must 
arbitrate their disputes before they file a lawsuit. 

Arbitrators are not judges and arbitration is not a judicial 
proceeding.  In arbitration, an arbitrator will determine 
whether your car is, in fact, a lemon.  Although your dispute 
is strengthened if you meet all of the lemon law criteria, you 
are not required to wait until all of the criteria are satisfied 
before arbitrating your dispute. 

As the consumer, you have certain rights during the arbitration 
process.  These include: 

• Information.  The arbitrator must provide you and 
other parties information about Idaho’s lemon law. 

• Argument.  You may argue any factor that you 
consider relevant in support of your complaint, 
including the results of unsuccessful repair attempts. 

• Documents.  The arbitrator may consider only the 
documents that all of the parties received. 

• Comments.  You may comment in writing or orally 
on any documents that you receive during the 
arbitration. 
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• Oral Presentation.  You must receive reasonable 
written notice of the arbitration and be allowed an 
opportunity to make an oral presentation to the 
arbitrator unless you agree to a telephone conference 
or to submit the case on the basis of documents alone.  
If the case is based on documents alone, the 
manufacturer or dealer representatives cannot 
participate in the discussion or resolution of the 
dispute.  However, you may get better results if you 
make a personal oral presentation to the arbitrator. 

• Independent Appraisal.  If the manufacturer claims 
your vehicle is operating properly, you have the right 
to get an independent appraisal at your own expense. 

• Service Bulletins.  The manufacturer must provide to 
you, at reasonable cost, any known technical service 
bulletins that apply to the disputed defect. 

• Attorney Representation.  You may have an attorney 
during the arbitration process.  However, most 
arbitration participants appear before the arbitrator 
without an attorney.  Attorney fees for representation 
in arbitration are not recoverable under Idaho’s lemon 
law. 

• Refund Amount.  If the arbitrator decides you should 
receive a refund or replacement vehicle under the 
terms of the lemon law, you are entitled to the same 
refunds and reimbursements you would have received 
had you won in court. 

What If I Disagree with the Arbitrator’s Decision? 

Unless you agree that the arbitrator’s decision is final, you are 
not bound by the decision.  Within 30 days of receiving the 
decision, you may apply for removal of the decision to the 
district court for a trial.  The manufacturer has the same right.  
If no application is made during the 30-day period, either party 
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may ask the district court to issue an order confirming the 
decision. 

If the court determines that you or the manufacturer acted in 
bad faith when you removed the arbitrator’s decision to court, 
the court may award the prevailing party three times the actual 
damages, attorney fees, and court costs.  Bad faith includes 
asserting frivolous or unsupported claims or defenses. 

May I File a Lawsuit Instead of Arbitrating? 

Unless the manufacturer requires arbitration first, you can skip 
arbitration and file a lawsuit instead.  However, you must file 
it within three years of the vehicle’s delivery date.  If you 
arbitrate first, you have three months to appeal the arbitrator’s 
decision. 

What If I’m Awarded a Refund? 

If you are awarded a refund under the terms of Idaho’s lemon 
law, the manufacturer must accept return of the defective 
vehicle and must refund: 

1. the full purchase price of the vehicle, not to exceed 
105% of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price;  
(However, the manufacturer may deduct a reasonable 
allowance for your use of the vehicle before the 
arbitration hearing.  The allowance cannot exceed the 
number of miles you added to the vehicle multiplied 
by the vehicle’s purchase price and divided by 
120,000) 

2. sales tax; 
3. license and registration fees; and 
4. reimbursement for towing and rental car expenses. 

If you leased your vehicle, you must return it to the 
manufacturer.  The manufacturer must refund: 
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1. the pro rata amount of your down payment;  (This 
amount is calculated by dividing the number of 
months of the lease into the amount of your down 
payment.  That amount is then multiplied by the 
number of months remaining on the lease after 
arbitration.) 

2. sales tax; 
3. license and registration fees; and 
4. reimbursement for towing and rental car expenses. 

If you lease the vehicle, you are not entitled to a replacement 
vehicle.  The manufacturer must provide you with a full 
refund of the early termination charges plus the residual value 
of the vehicle as specified in the lease agreement. 

Your refund amount for the pro rata share of your down 
payment plus the amount of your refund cannot exceed 105% 
of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the vehicle. 

What If I’m Awarded a Replacement But Want a Refund 
Instead? 

If you are awarded a replacement vehicle, you have the option 
of receiving a refund instead.  Just remember, the refund and 
replacement provisions of Idaho’s lemon law apply only if the 
defect impairs the vehicle’s use or market value. 

Helpful Hints 

In preparation of a lemon law dispute, you should: 

• Keep copies of all purchase orders, sales receipts, 
lease agreements, warranties, detailed repair invoices, 
letters and other documents concerning your vehicle 
and its problems or potential defects. 

• If your vehicle is in the shop for repairs for more than 



 9 

one day at a time, make sure that the repair invoice 
shows the date it was brought into the shop and the 
date you were notified that it was ready for return. 

• If you think you are eligible for a refund or 
replacement vehicle, remember the law requires you 
to give the manufacturer or authorized dealer written 
notice of your intent to rely on the “reasonable number 
of attempts” presumption.  You should send a letter by 
certified mail with a return receipt requested.  If you 
send the letter to the dealer, also send a copy to the 
manufacturer. 

• If you have any questions about Idaho’s lemon law, 
you can review it at Title 48, Chapter 9 of the Idaho 
Code (Idaho Code § 48-901 et seq.).  You also should 
consult a private attorney. 

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title48/T48CH9/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title48/T48CH9/
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